Print page

January 2016 Check Presentation

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

On Monday, January 25, 2016 Yesse Olivas, Human Resources Manager of Cutrale Citrus Juices USA, Inc. presented the Polk State College District Board of Trustees a $19,000 gift representative of cumulative giving to scholarships, technology, and programs.  Susan Copeland, Polk State College Foundation Board Member expressed her tremendous gratitude to Olivas on behalf of her fellow Board Members, the District Board, and the students who benefit from Cutrale’s generosity.

The Cutrale family started in the citrus business in the 1960’s. Headquartered in Brazil, Cutrale expanded to the USA in 1996, by purchasing the Auburndale, Dade City, and Leesburg processing plants from The Coca-Cola Company. The essential objective of Cutrale Citrus Juices USA, Inc. is to provide the highest quality products and service to their customers, while being the most efficient juice supplier in the citrus industry.

The company strives to provide each employee with a quality of work life conducive to growth, development and opportunity. Cutrale has demonstrated this by partnering with the Foundation and Clear Springs Advanced Technology Center during its fundraising campaign to provide for the state-of-the-art elements, student success, and, ultimately, workforce elevation in our community. Cutrale Citrus Juices USA, Inc. continues to support Polk students through their investment in several Foundation events.

Olivas expressed that, “Cutrale employees appreciate hearing the various stories of the Polk State College Foundation scholarship recipients which motivates them to further assist students.  Cutrale believes in helping young minds advance their education so they may grow and provide continuous improvement to our community. Our company takes great pride to be a helping hand for students to reach the potential that we all see in them, and to be our future so that one day they may give back to Polk County when their time arrives.”

Pictured left to right: Mark G. Turner, Dan Dorrell, Yesse Olivas, Dr. Eileen Holden, Greg Littleton, and Linda Pilkington.